WhatsApp will prevent you from saving saved photos in disappearing chats

0
4



WhatsApp is increasing privacy on its platform. The company last year introduced the disappearing media feature on its platform that allows users to share photos and photos that automatically disappear once a user has viewed it. Then there were messages missing the ability share in the Messages app. As a result, WhatsApp introduced a disappearing mode feature that enables users to share all their messages in such a way that they will disappear once the messages are read by the recipients of the messages. However, this functionality has a significant drawback. All pictures and videos shared using this technology will still be stored on users’ smartphones, allowing users to view them later in their phone’s gallery. This posed a huge privacy risk. WhatsApp has taken cognizance of the matter and is now rolling out an update to fix the issue.

The Meta-owned messaging app is changing the way photos and videos are saved on its platform. According to a report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is automatically turning off the “Media Visibility” option to make shared chats disappear on its Android app. WhatsApp is rolling out a similar feature on WhatsApp for iOS, with the company turning off the “save to camera roll” option to make chats disappear.

With this update, shared photos, videos and GIFs will no longer be saved on users’ smartphones when Vanishing Messages mode is turned on.

That said, WhatsApp users will still be able to manually save media in disappearing chats. This change is being rolled out to all users on beta and public builds. The blog site says these changes should take effect within 24 hours.

WhatsApp Posts will stop you from saving the photos you saved in the first disappeared chat on BGR India.

Leave a Reply