WhatsApp recently announced that it will soon block users from taking screenshots of images shared in “view-once” format. This feature is now rolling out to some beta testers WABetaInfo, Recipients will no longer be able to take screenshots of images or videos in “view once” format.
The report also states that once the image is shared in the format, this feature will also block screen recording. If someone tries to take a screenshot, they’ll just capture a blank screen instead. This is similar to what we have seen in OTT apps like Netflix, Disney+ Hotstar and Amazon Prime Video.
It has been clarified in the report that no third party app will be able to pass through this screenshot blocking feature of Instagram. This has been introduced to enhance the privacy of the user as taking a screenshot of the image once shared in the format completely defeats the purpose of the feature. Notably, the recipient can click a picture of a still image from a secondary mobile phone.
The report further states that if you try to take a screenshot, you will see a message that says “Screenshot was blocked for added privacy”. No notification will be sent to the sender of the image about an attempt to take a screenshot.
For Unverse, users cannot forward, export or save images and videos at once. The report states that “this feature has been rolled out to some beta testers who use the updated beta builds from TestFlight, and will be rolled out to more users in the coming weeks.”
With this feature, WhatsApp announced two more privacy features for users. Users can now leave group chats silently. Every time a participant leaves the group only the group admins will be notified. The third functionality is hiding your online status. Users will be able to decide who can see their online status on WhatsApp.
WhatsApp post bans users from taking screenshots of ‘one view’ images that appear for the first time on BGR India.