Nowadays, almost half of the world’s population is active on social media. People make new friends and share their experiences, photos and stories. But have you ever wondered what would happen to the social media accounts of those who died?
Facebook is one such social media platform which is used by most of the people around the world. Facebook has made some special rules for dead people. You can delete it forever or you can keep it as memory if you want. For this, the option of ‘Remember’ will appear right after the name of your Facebook account.
Apart from this, you will also have to send a legal contract to Facebook in which you will have to tell who will handle your account after your death. After which Facebook will make an agreement in which it will be necessary to follow all the instructions.
Features of Monumentalized Account:
- A special feature of the Memorized account is that friends and family members can share memories, including posts, photos, videos, of a person’s death. The Commemorative Account has the following features.
- The death will appear on their profile next to the person’s name to remember.
- Depending on a person’s privacy settings, friends can share memories on the Memories timeline
- Content shared on a profile will remain on Facebook and will be visible to the people who share it.
- Additionally, remembered profiles don’t appear in public places such as suggestions for people you might know, ads, or birthday reminders.
- No individual can log in to the Memorized account.
- Remembered accounts that do not have old contacts cannot be changed.
How to Request a Memorialized Account on Facebook
STEP1: First of all tap on the down facing icon coming in the top right part of Facebook.
STEP2: After that select Settings and Privacy option and click on Settings.
STEP3: Then tap on Memorization Settings.
Step 4: After that, scroll down and select “Request that your account be deleted after your demise”.
Step 5: After that, click on “Delete after death”.
A person can choose to delete their account when they have passed away. In addition, once someone is notified of the death of the profile owner, all photos, videos, posts, comments, reactions and information will be permanently deleted and removed from Facebook.
What happens to a Facebook account after someone dies? Here’s How You Can Make It Memorable This first appeared on BGR India.