Netflix knows when you shared your password, now it wants you to pay for it

0
0



For years, Netflix users have shared their account passwords with friends and family so they can watch shows and movies from the streaming service. Now, Netflix is ​​testing a way to crack down on the practice of sharing passwords between friends and family members who don’t live in the same household, by paying them an additional fee.

In a blog post, Netflix’s director of product innovation Chengyi Long said password sharing practices are affecting the company’s ability to invest in new TVs and movies. “We’ve always made it easy for people who live together to share their Netflix account with features such as different profiles and multiple streams in our Standard and Premium plans. While these have been hugely popular, they have been very popular. This has also led to some confusion about when and how Netflix can be shared. As a result, accounts are being shared between households – increasing our ability to invest in great new TV and movies for our members. impresses,” Long wrote in a blog post.

To crack down on this practice, the company has begun testing two new features that enable Netflix users who share their accounts with people outside their homes to do so with a little extra pay the fee. The first feature is called ‘Add Additional Members’. This enables Netflix users who have subscribed to the company’s Standard and Premium plans to be able to add sub accounts for up to two people at a low cost, each with their own profile, personalized recommendations, login and password. Huh. , Users in Chile who opt for this facility will have to pay CLP 2,380 (approximately Rs 225.78), while users in Costa Rica and Peru will have to pay USD 2.99 (approximately Rs 226.9) and 7.9 pens (approximately Rs 160.8) respectively. will have to pay. ,

The other feature is called ‘Transfer Profile to a New Account’. This feature allows users of Netflix’s Basic, Standard and Premium plans to share their account to transfer profile information to a new account or an additional member sub-account, taking into account viewing history, My List, and personalized recommendations. enables.

Netflix said that it plans to test these features in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru and they will be available to its users in these countries in the coming days. “We will work to understand the usefulness of these two features for members in these three countries before making changes elsewhere in the world,” the company said.

The post Netflix knows when you shared your password now wants you to pay for it appeared first on BGR India.

Leave a Reply