There has been a lot of hope in the air regarding the recent Twitter acquisition of Elon Musk. The billionaire has his own opinion on free speech and how he will change the face of Twitter in the coming months. While some of you may be celebrating shopping, others might not want to see the end of it.
If you’re part of the latter half or just want to take a break from Twitter for a while, here’s how you can deactivate your account temporarily.
How to temporarily delete your Twitter account
- Go to your Twitter profile and tap on the Menu icon
- Go to Settings > Privacy
- Go to “Account” then select “Deactivate your account”
- Confirm that you want to deactivate your account by selecting “Deactivate” and then confirm again
One of the most important things that you need to keep in mind while deactivating your account is that if your inactivity window exceeds 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. And once the account is deleted, you will not be able to activate it again and will lose access to the old tweets.
According to Twitter, “Once your account is deleted after the 30-day inactivity window, your username will be available for registration by other Twitter accounts.” Once you deactivate the account, your profile will no longer be visible on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android.
In particular, if you have deactivated your account, “the username of your account will still be mentioned in other’s Tweets”. However, the handle will no longer be linked to your profile as your profile will no longer be available.
Twitter has clarified that if you have an account issue such as “incorrect tweets, incorrect follower or following count, suspicious direct messages or possible account compromise”, deactivating and reactivating your account will not resolve it.
How to temporarily delete twitter account The post first appeared on BGR India.