iPhone users may not have much to complain about, but there is one thing most of them would point out. limited storage. Apple’s expensive iPhones may have all the cutting edge technology, but it’s never allowed the storage to grow. You have to make do with whatever space you have in there, and it sometimes fills up fast. Blame heavy apps and the amount of data they store during your usage time. As this happens, you either stop using some apps or don’t start using one in the first place. But these apps occupy a lot of space. Why don’t you clean it?
Your iPhone lets you free up space with a cool trick that doesn’t require you to leave saved data for apps. Apple lets you, as it says, offload apps from your iPhone. It’s not like deleting an app. Offloading means that an app you probably haven’t used for a while is removed, but your data remains safe. The advantage here is that whenever you reinstall that app, the app gets your data automatically so that you can pick up the data you left behind last time. It all happens at your convenience. I mean you can delete the app because you are not using it without worrying about your data stored in that app’s library.
Before I tell you how you can offload apps from your iPhone, let me guide you through how you can check your iPhone’s storage. On your iPhone, go to Settings, then tap General, and then navigate to the About section. Part of this section shows you the option to view iPhone storage. Tapping on it will show you a classification of your used space. It is usually apps that take up a lot of space. Now, that important part: how to free up that space.
How to Offload Apps and Free Up iPhone Space
With iOS 11, Apple has introduced a way for iPhone users to offload apps. When you delete an app, it is permanently removed from your iPhone, but offloading it leaves the app icon and its data the same. However, the app’s storage has been removed. You can manually offload one app at a time. But if you don’t want the hassle, your iPhone will do it for you.
I will show you how to offload an app manually first and then how to do automatic offloading.
Offload an app manually
In the same iPhone storage section where you check which app is taking up how much space, you have to dive a little deeper. On iOS 15, apps are listed in order from highest to lowest in terms of storage consumption. Each app has the storage it has mentioned next to it. If you want to offload an app, tap on it. Now you will see here “App Size” and “Documents & Data” for an app. The first is the location your app has hogged, while the latter is where your data is saved in that app. You can also check the “Offload App” option here. Tap that option to offload that app manually.
Remember that your data will not be deleted while offloading an app. “This will free up the storage used by the app, but retain its documents and data. If the app is still available in the App Store, reinstalling the app will restore your data,” reads the description for the Offload App feature.
When you offload an app, the app icon remains intact. But you will see a change. Right before the app’s name, you’ll see a cloud with an arrow pointing down. This is how you tell if an app is offloaded or not. Tapping on this app icon will reinstall the app, given that it is still available in the App Store.
offload an app automatically
Since you’re not sure about which apps you’ll use the most and what won’t, iPhone can do that for you. This will accordingly offload unused apps, just in case your iPhone doesn’t run out of space for the song you want to download or the video you want to record during your vacation.
On your iPhone, go to Settings, then General, and then iPhone Storage. This is the same section where you offload apps manually. If you haven’t already turned on the option, you’ll see how much space you can free up now under the Recommendations section under Offload Unused Apps. Your iPhone estimates storage based on your usage behavior. The storage you see is a bunch of storage covered by apps that you no longer use.
Right next to Offload Unused Apps, you will give an option to “Enable” the setting. A green checkmark will appear instead of “Enable,” suggesting that the feature is now turned on. Now, sit back and relax. Your iPhone will take care of storage space by loading unused apps. You won’t be notified when an app is offloaded, but if it was offloaded by the system, you’ll see the same cloud download icon next to the app’s name. You can reinstall it at any time and retain your data.
How to delete unused apps and free up iPhone space The post first appeared on BGR India.