Facebook was introduced nearby friends Featured on IT Platforms in April 2014. Describing the feature in the company, the company had said, “If you turn on Nearby Friends, you will sometimes be notified when friends are nearby, so that you can contact and meet them.” Can. UP.” Now, almost eight years later, the company has decided to discontinue this feature.
Multiple user reports on Twitter suggest that Facebook has started showing messages to users informing them about the closure of the feature from May 31, 2022. In addition, the company has also started notifying users that it is discontinuing other location-based features, which include location history, weather alerts, and background location features.
“Nearby Friends and Weather Alerts will not be available after May 31, 2022. The information you shared, which was used for these experiences, including location history and background location, as of May 31, 2022.” The latter will stop being collected, even if you have previously enabled them,” the message reads.
— Aj (@007_Aj_1992) 5 May 2022
In addition, the message says, “You can access and download your location history in Access Your Information until August 1, 2022. After August 1, 2022, any location history or background location information you previously shared will be deleted.”
But there is a catch. Facebook says it will continue to use location information for “other experiences” even after these features are turned off, as described in its data policy. According to Facebook’s data policy, location data is collected when users use a feature on its platform. For example, if you check-in or share an image and tag a location in it, the company will collect this data. “When you use our products, when you sign up for an account, create or share content, and message or communicate with others, we may provide you with the content, communications and collects other information. This may include information in or about the content you provide (such as metadata), such as the location of a photo or the date the file was created,” the company states in its data policy.
In addition, it also collects information that users allow the company to “obtain through device settings you have turned on, such as access to your GPS location, camera, or photos.” Of course, you can limit this access by turning off location settings within the app and as part of your phone’s privacy settings.
The Facebook Posts to Discontinued feature that lets your friends track your location in real time has appeared for the first time on BGR India.